WorldCat Linked Data Explorer

http://worldcat.org/entity/work/id/1107731802

Taco USA : how Mexican food conquered America

Presents a narrative history of Mexican cuisine in the United States, sharing a century's worth of anecdotes and cultural criticism to address questions about culinary authenticity and the source of Mexican food's popularity.

Open All Close All

http://schema.org/alternateName

  • "Taco United States of America"@en

http://schema.org/description

  • "Presents a narrative history of Mexican cuisine in the United States, sharing a century's worth of anecdotes and cultural criticism to address questions about culinary authenticity and the source of Mexican food's popularity."@en
  • "Nationally syndicated columnist and bestselling author of 'Ask a Mexican! Gustavo Arellano presents an entertaining, tasty trip through the history and culture of Mexican food in this country, uncovering great stories and charting the cuisine's tremendous popularity in el Norte. In the tradition of Bill Buford's Heat and Calvin Trillin's The Tummy Trilogy, Arellano's fascinating narrative combines history, cultural criticism, personal anecdotes, and Jesus on a tortilla. When salsa overtook ketchup as this country's favorite condiment in the 1990s, America's century-long love affair with Mexican food reached yet another milestone. In seemingly every decade since the 1880s, America has tried new food trends from south of the border'chili, tamales, tacos, enchiladas, tequila, bacon-wrapped hot dogs, and so many more'loved them, and demanded the next great thing. As a result, Mexican food dominates American palates to the tune of billions of dollars in sales per year, from canned refried beans to frozen margaritas and ballpark nachos. It's a little-known history, one that's crept up on this country like your Mexican neighbors'and left us better for it. Now, Taco USA addresses the all-important questions: What exactly constitutes "Mexican" food in the United States' How did it get here' What's "authentic" and what's "Taco Bell," and does it matter' What's so cosmic about a burrito' And why do Americans love Mexican food so darn much' Tacos, alas, sold separately."@en

http://schema.org/genre

  • "Electronic books"@en
  • "History"@en
  • "History"

http://schema.org/name

  • "Taco USA : how Mexican food conquered America"@en
  • "Taco USA : how Mexican food conquered America"
  • "Taco USA : How Mexican Food Conquered America"
  • "Taco USA how Mexican food conquered America"@en
  • "Taco USA how Mexican food conquered America"
  • "Taco usa how mexican food conquered america"@en