WorldCat Linked Data Explorer

http://worldcat.org/entity/work/id/1248876068

Night film a novel /

On a damp October night, the body of young, beautiful Ashley Cordova is found in an abandoned warehouse in lower Manhattan. By all appearances her death is a suicide--but investigative journalist Scott McGrath suspects otherwise. Though much has been written about the dark and unsettling films of Ashley's father, Stanislas Cordova, very little is known about the man himself. As McGrath pieces together the mystery of Ashley's death, he is drawn deeper and deeper into the dark underbelly of New York City and the twisted world of Stanislas Cordova, and he begins to wonder--is he the next victim?

Open All Close All

http://schema.org/about

http://schema.org/description

  • "On a damp October night, the body of young, beautiful Ashley Cordova is found in an abandoned warehouse in lower Manhattan. By all appearances her death is a suicide--but investigative journalist Scott McGrath suspects otherwise. Though much has been written about the dark and unsettling films of Ashley's father, Stanislas Cordova, very little is known about the man himself. As McGrath pieces together the mystery of Ashley's death, he is drawn deeper and deeper into the dark underbelly of New York City and the twisted world of Stanislas Cordova, and he begins to wonder--is he the next victim?"@en
  • "Contemporary fiction. Cult horror director Stanislas Cordova hasn't been seen in public since 1971. To his fans he is an enigma. To journalist Scott McGrath he is the enemy. To Ashley he was a father. On a damp October night the young, beautiful Ashley Cordova is found dead in an abandoned warehouse in lower Manhattan."
  • "NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER A page-turning thriller for readers of Stephen King, Gillian Flynn, and Stieg Larsson, Night Film tells the haunting story of a journalist who becomes obsessed with the mysterious death of a troubled prodigy'the daughter of an iconic, reclusive filmmaker. On a damp October night, beautiful young Ashley Cordova is found dead in an abandoned warehouse in lower Manhattan. Though her death is ruled a suicide, veteran investigative journalist Scott McGrath suspects otherwise. As he probes the strange circumstances surrounding Ashley's life and death, McGrath comes face-to-face with the legacy of her father: the legendary, reclusive cult-horror-film director Stanislas Cordova'a man who hasn't been seen in public for more than thirty years. For McGrath, another death connected to this seemingly cursed family dynasty seems more than just a coincidence. Though much has been written about Cordova's dark and unsettling films, very little is known about the man himself. Driven by revenge, curiosity, and a need for the truth, McGrath, with the aid of two strangers, is drawn deeper and deeper into Cordova's eerie, hypnotic world. The last time he got close to exposing the director, McGrath lost his marriage and his career. This time he might lose even more. Night Film, the gorgeously written, spellbinding new novel by the dazzlingly inventive Marisha Pessl, will hold you in suspense until you turn the final page. Praise for Night Film "Night Film has been precision-engineered to be read at high velocity, and its energy would be the envy of any summer blockbuster. Your average writer of thrillers should lust for Pessl's deft touch with character."'Joe Hill, The New York Times Book Review "Mysterious and even a little head-spinning, an amazing act of imagination."'Dean Baquet, The New York Times Book Review "Maniacally clever . . . Cordova is a monomaniacal genius who creeps into the darkest crevices of the human psyche. . . . As a study of a great mythmaker, Night Film is an absorbing act of myth-making itself. . . . Dastardly fun . . . The plot feels like an M. C. Escher nightmare about Edgar Allan Poe. . . . You'll miss your subway stop, let dinner burn and start sleeping with the lights on."'The Washington Post "Haunting . . . a suspenseful, sprawling page-turner."'USA Today "Entrancing and delightful . . . [a] whipsmart humdinger of a thriller . . . It feels, above all things, new."'The Boston Globe "Gripping . . . a masterful puzzle . . . Pessl builds up real suspense."'Entertainment Weekly "A very deeply imagined book . . . sprints to an ending that's equal parts nagging and haunting: What lingers, beyond all the page-turning, is a density of possible clues that leaves you leafing backward, scanning fictional blog comments and newspaper clippings, positive there's some secret detail that will snap everything into focus."'New York "Hypnotic . . . The real and the imaginary, life and art, are dizzyingly distorted not only in a Cordova night film . . . but in Pessl's own Night Film as well."'Vanity Fair From the Hardcover edition."@en
  • "Brilliant, haunting, breathtakingly suspenseful, Night Film is a superb literary thriller by the New York Times bestselling author of the "blockbuster debut" (People) Special Topics in Calamity Physics. On a damp October night, beautiful young Ashley Cordova is found dead in an abandoned warehouse in lower Manhattan. Though her death is ruled a suicide, veteran investigative journalist Scott McGrath suspects otherwise. As he probes the strange circumstances surrounding Ashley's life and death, McGrath comes face-to-face with the legacy of her father: the legendary, reclusive, cult-horror-film director Stanislas Cordova--a man who hasn't been seen in public for more than thirty years. For McGrath, another death connected to this seemingly cursed family dynasty seems more than just a coincidence. Though much has been written about Cordova's dark and unsettling films, very little is known about the man himself. Driven by..."@en
  • "When the daughter of a cult horror film director is found dead in an abandoned Manhattan warehouse, investigative journalist Scott McGrath, disbelieving the official suicide ruling, probes into the strange circumstances of the young woman's death."
  • "When the daughter of a cult horror film director is found dead in an abandoned Manhattan warehouse, investigative journalist Scott McGrath, disbelieving the official suicide ruling, probes into the strange circumstances of the young woman's death."@en
  • "On a damp October night, the body of young, beautiful Ashley Cordova is found in an abandoned warehouse in lower Manhattan. By all appearances her death is a suicide--but investigative journalist Scott McGrath suspects otherwise. Though much has been written about the dark and unsettling films of Ashley's father, Stanislas Cordova, very little is known about the man himself. As McGrath pieces together the mystery of Ashley's death, he is drawn deeper and deeper into the dark underbelly of New York City and the twisted world of Stanislas Cordova, and he begins to wonder--is he the next victim? In this novel, the dazzlingly inventive writer Marisha Pessl offers a breathtaking mystery that will hold you in suspense until the last page is turned."@en
  • "Reporter Scott McGrath investigates the apparent suicide of Ashley Cordova, which brings him into the strange world of her father, a reclusive cult-horror-film director. He also delves into the death of another person connected to the family."@en
  • "Reporter Scott McGrath investigates the apparent suicide of Ashley Cordova, which brings him into the strange world of her father, a reclusive cult-horror-film director. He also delves into the death of another person connected to the family."

http://schema.org/genre

  • "Fiction."
  • "Mystery fiction."@en
  • "Mystery fiction."
  • "Psychological fiction."@en
  • "Psychological fiction."
  • "Suspense fiction."
  • "Suspense fiction."@en
  • "Electronic books."@en
  • "Electronic books."
  • "Fiction"@en
  • "Fiction"
  • "Suspense fiction"@en
  • "Mystery fiction"
  • "Psychological fiction"
  • "Psychological fiction"@en

http://schema.org/name

  • "Night film : a novel"
  • "Night film a novel /"@en
  • "Night film a novel /"
  • "Night Film : A Novel /"@en
  • "Night film /"
  • "Night film /"@en
  • "Night Film."@en
  • "Night film."
  • "Night film : a novel /"
  • "Night film : a novel /"@en
  • "Night Film A Novel."@en
  • "Night Film A Novel."
  • "Night film"