WorldCat Linked Data Explorer

http://worldcat.org/entity/work/id/1293261

The well of lost plots : a novel

When soon-to-be single parent Thursday Next emerges from her comfortable life inside an unpublished book, she steps into a new age of fictional narrative. The entire book world is abuzz with anticipation of an improved Text Operating System that moves from the 8-plot to the new 32-plot story system. But danger lurks when Jurisfiction agents keep turning up dead. When Thursday steps in, she encounters Dickens' Miss Havisham, passes through Emily Bronte's Wuthering Heights, and deals with a mispeling vyrus, holesmiths, and unionized nursery rhymes. THE WELL OF LOST PLOTS--the place where all fiction is created--is an exhilarating romp through literary classics, an insightful look into how books are made, and a jewel in the long tradition of British nonsense.

Open All Close All

http://schema.org/about

http://schema.org/alternateName

  • "Well of lost plots"@en
  • "Well of lost plots"
  • "well of lost plots"
  • "Thursday Next in The well of lost plots"
  • "Thursday Next in The well of lost plots"@en

http://schema.org/description

  • "When soon-to-be single parent Thursday Next emerges from her comfortable life inside an unpublished book, she steps into a new age of fictional narrative. The entire book world is abuzz with anticipation of an improved Text Operating System that moves from the 8-plot to the new 32-plot story system. But danger lurks when Jurisfiction agents keep turning up dead. When Thursday steps in, she encounters Dickens' Miss Havisham, passes through Emily Bronte's Wuthering Heights, and deals with a mispeling vyrus, holesmiths, and unionized nursery rhymes. THE WELL OF LOST PLOTS--the place where all fiction is created--is an exhilarating romp through literary classics, an insightful look into how books are made, and a jewel in the long tradition of British nonsense."@en
  • "Leaving Swindon behind to hide out in the Well of Lost Plots - the place where all fiction is created - Thursday Next ponders her next move. As a shadow looms over popular fiction, she must keep her wits about her and discover what is going on and who she can trust."
  • "Jasper Fforde has done it again in this genre-bending blend of crime fiction, fantasy, and top-drawer literary entertainment. After two rollicking New York Times Read Jasper Fforde's posts in the Penguin Blog."@en
  • "-- New York TimesSomething Rotten."@en
  • "Literary detective Thursday Next's new adventure takes her deep inside the world of books, to anger management sessions within "Wuthering Heights", boy-racing with Miss Havisham and Mr Toad, a run-in with the Queen of Hearts and the discovery of something rotten in the state of fiction. The much-awaited upgrade from the old book system - in which grammasites will be exterminated, punctuation standardised and the number of possible plots increased from eight to an astonishing thirty-two - is only weeks away. But if this is the beginning of a golden age why are Jurisfiction agents mysteriously dying?"@en
  • "Jasper Fforde has done it again in this genre-bending blend of crime fiction, fantasy, and top-drawer literary entertainment. After two rollicking New York Times bestselling adventures through Western literature, resourceful literary detective Thursday Next definitely needs some downtime. And what better place for a respite than in the hidden depths of the Well of Lost Plots, where all unpublished books reside? But peace and quiet remain elusive for Thursday, who soon discovers that the Well is a veritable linguistic free-for-all, where grammasites run rampant, plot devices are hawked on the black market, and lousy books-like the one she has taken up residence in-are scrapped for salvage. To make matters worse, a murderer is stalking the personnel of Jurisfiction and it's up to Thursday to save the day. A brilliant feat of literary showmanship filled with wit, fantasy, and effervescent originality, this Ffordian tour de force is the most exciting Thursday Next adventure yet."
  • "Thursday Next definitely needs some downtime. After two rollicking New York Times-bestselling adventures through the Western literary canon, Britain's Prose Resource Operative was literally and literaturally at her wit's end -- not to mention pregnant. So what could be more welcome than a restful stint in the Character Exchange Program down in the hidden depths of the Well of Lost Plots? But a vacation remains elusive. In no time, Thursday discovers that the Well of Lost Plots is a veritable linguistic free-for-all where grammasites run rampant, plot devices are hawked on the black market and lousy books (like the one she has taken up residence in) are scrapped for salvage. To top it off, a murderer is stalking Jurisfiction personnel and nobody is safe, least of all Thursday herself. Once again, it's up to the ever-resourceful gal detective to track down the killer, save her pulp novel-slash-temporary abode from being chucked into the Text Sea, and get back to her "real" life with her body (and memory, if it's not too much to ask) intact. Jasper Fforde has done it again in this absolutely brilliant feat of literary showmanship. When it comes to sheer wit, literate fantasy and effervescent originality, nothing can touch this new Ffordian tour de force."
  • "Exhausted by her stint as Miss Havisham's apprentice at Jurisfiction, Thursday Next is delighted by a respite in the Character Exchange Program in the Well of Lost Plots, a place filled with linguistic chaos, lousy books, and a murderer."@en
  • "Something is rotten in the state of Jurisfiction. Perkins is "accidentally" eaten by the minotaur and Snell succombs to the Mispeling Vyrus. As a shadow looms of popular fiction, Thursday Next, literary detective, must keep her wits about her and discover what is going on."
  • "The third installment in Jasper Fforde's New York Times bestselling series follows literary detective Thursday Next on another adventure in her alternate reality of literature-obsessed England Jasper Fforde has done it again in this genre-bending blend of crime fiction, fantasy, and top-drawer literary entertainment. After two rollicking New York Times bestselling adventures through Western literature, resourceful BookWorld literary detective Thursday Next definitely needs some downtime. And what better place for a respite than in the hidden depths of the Well of Lost Plots, where all unpublished books reside' But peace and quiet remain elusive for Thursday, who soon discovers that the Well is a veritable linguistic free-for-all, where grammasites run rampant, plot devices are hawked on the black market, and lousy books'like the one she has taken up residence in'are scrapped for salvage. To make matters worse, a murderer is stalking the personnel of Jurisfiction and it's up to Thursday to save the day. A brilliant feat of literary showmanship filled with wit, fantasy, and effervescent originality, this Ffordian tour de forcewill appeal to fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse. Thursday's zany investigations continue with Something Rotten. Look for the five other bestselling Thursday Next novels, including One of Our Thursdays is Missing and Jasper Fforde's latest bestseller, The Woman Who Died A Lot. Visit jasperfforde.com for a ffull window into the Ffordian world!"@en

http://schema.org/genre

  • "Electronic books"
  • "Electronic books"@en
  • "Detective and mystery stories"
  • "Detective and mystery stories"@en
  • "Fantasy"@en
  • "Humorous fiction"
  • "Fantasy fiction"
  • "Fantasy fiction"@en
  • "Time travel"@en
  • "Mystery fiction"
  • "Mystery fiction"@en
  • "Large type books"@en
  • "Fiction"
  • "Fiction"@en

http://schema.org/name

  • "The well of lost plots : a novel"@en
  • "The well of lost plots : a novel"
  • "Well of lost plots"@en
  • "The well of lost plots a novel"
  • "The Well of Lost Plots A Thursday Next Novel"@en
  • "The well of lost plots / Jasper Fforde"
  • "The well of lost plots : a Thursday Next novel"@en
  • "The Well of lost plots"
  • "The Well of Lost Plots"
  • "The well of lost plots"@en
  • "The well of lost plots"
  • "The Well of Lost Plots"@en
  • "The well of lost plots a Thursday Next novel"@en
  • "The well of lost plots a thursday next novel"@en
  • "Thursday next in the well of lost plots : a novel"
  • "Thursday Next in The well of lost plots : a novel"
  • "Thursday Next in The well of lost plots : a novel"@en
  • "The well of lost plots : Thursday next, #3"@en

http://schema.org/workExample