WorldCat Linked Data Explorer

http://worldcat.org/entity/work/id/1375512799

The boys in the boat : nine Americans and their epic quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

This is an epic true-life journey to the heart of Hitler's Berlin. Cast aside by his family at an early age, abandoned and left to fend for himself in the woods of Washington State, young Joe Rantz turns to rowing as a way of escaping his past. What follows is an extraordinary journey, as Joe and eight other working-class boys exchange the sweat and dust of life in 1930s America for the promise of glory at the heart of Hitler's Berlin. Stroke by stroke, a remarkable young man strives to regain his shattered self-regard, to dare again to trust in others - and to find his way back home. Told against the backdrop of the Great Depression, The Boys in the Boat is narrative non-fiction of the first order; a personal story full of lyricism and unexpected beauty that rises above the grand sweep of history, and captures instead the purest essence of what it means to be alive.

Open All Close All

http://schema.org/about

http://schema.org/alternateName

  • "Boys in the boat"@en
  • "Nine Americans and their epic quest for gold at the 1936 Olympics"@en
  • "9 Americans and their epic quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics"@en
  • "9 Americans and their epic quest for gold at the 1936 Olympics"@en
  • "Nine Americans and their epic quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics"@en

http://schema.org/description

  • "This is an epic true-life journey to the heart of Hitler's Berlin. Cast aside by his family at an early age, abandoned and left to fend for himself in the woods of Washington State, young Joe Rantz turns to rowing as a way of escaping his past. What follows is an extraordinary journey, as Joe and eight other working-class boys exchange the sweat and dust of life in 1930s America for the promise of glory at the heart of Hitler's Berlin. Stroke by stroke, a remarkable young man strives to regain his shattered self-regard, to dare again to trust in others - and to find his way back home. Told against the backdrop of the Great Depression, The Boys in the Boat is narrative non-fiction of the first order; a personal story full of lyricism and unexpected beauty that rises above the grand sweep of history, and captures instead the purest essence of what it means to be alive."@en
  • ""The University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the nine boys, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what beating the odds really meant. They defeated elite rivals from California and eastern schools to earn the right to compete against the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic Games in Berlin. The crew was assembled by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it was their trust in each other that made them a victorious team"--back cover."
  • "-- The Boys in the Boat The Amateurs."@en
  • "For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936. The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls together'a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism. Drawing on the boys' own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, The Boys in the Boat is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times'the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam's The Amateurs."@en
  • "This book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. It traces the story of the team that defeated elite rivals at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics, sharing the experiences of their enigmatic coach, a visionary boat builder, and a homeless teen rower."
  • "This book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. It traces the story of the team that defeated elite rivals at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics, sharing the experiences of their enigmatic coach, a visionary boat builder, and a homeless teen rower."@en
  • "Traces the story of an American rowing team from the University of Washington that defeated elite rivals at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics, sharing the experiences of their enigmatic coach, a visionary boat builder, and a homeless teen rower."@en
  • ""Out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times - the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant. ... Brown has created an unforgettable portrait of an era, a celebration of a remarkable achievement, and a chronicle of one extraordinary young man's personal quest"--Back cover."@en

http://schema.org/genre

  • "History"
  • "History"@en
  • "Electronic books"@en
  • "Biography"@en
  • "Biography"

http://schema.org/name

  • "The boys in the boat : nine Americans and their epic quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics"@en
  • "The boys in the boat : nine Americans and their epic quest for gold at the 1936 Olympics"@en
  • "The Boys in the Boat Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics"@en
  • "Boys in the Boat : Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Olympics"@en
  • "The Boys in the Boat (large print) : nine Americans and their epic quest for gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics"@en
  • "The boys in the boat : nine Americans and their epic quest for gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics"
  • "The boys in the boat : nine Americans and their epic quest for gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics"@en
  • "The boys in the boat : nine Americans and their quest for gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics"@en
  • "The boys in the boat nine americans and their epic quest for gold at the 1936 berlin olympics"@en
  • "Boys in the Boat : Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics"@en