WorldCat Linked Data Explorer

http://worldcat.org/entity/work/id/138097868

American rust

A novel as splendidly crafted and original as any written in recent decades, American Rust is both darkly disturbing and richly compelling. Philipp Meyer's first novel signals the arrival of a new voice in American letters. Patricia Cornwell.

Open All Close All

http://schema.org/about

http://schema.org/description

  • "A novel as splendidly crafted and original as any written in recent decades, American Rust is both darkly disturbing and richly compelling. Philipp Meyer's first novel signals the arrival of a new voice in American letters. Patricia Cornwell."@en
  • "Isaac is the town genius, a young man left behind to care for his paralyzed father after his mother's suicide and his sister's departure for Yale. On the day that he steals $6,000 from his old man's desk and sets off to California to study astrophysics, he and his sister's ex-boyfriend Poe, a former high school baseball star, are waylaid by a group of transients. Isaac's inadvertent murder of one of the men changes the friends' fates and tests the loyalties of their friendship and the loyalties of their lovers, families, and the town itself, forever."
  • "Left alone to care for his aging father after his mother commits suicide and his sister escapes to Yale, Isaac English longs for a life beyond his hometown. But when he finally sets out to leave for good, accompanied by his best friend, former high school football star Billy Poe, they are caught up in a terrible act of violence that changes their lives forever."
  • "A heart-wrenching, unputdownable tale of redemption and survival in small-town America in the tradition of Richard Ford, Pete Dexter and Cormac McCarthy."@en
  • "Set in a beautiful but economically devastated Pennsylvania steel town, a lush landscape as deceptively promising as the edifices of the abandoned steel mills, "American Rust" is a novel of the lost American dream and the desperation that arises in its absence. Left alone to care for his aging father after his mother commits suicide and his sister escapes to Yale, Isaac English longs for a life beyond his hometown. But when he finally sets out to leave for good, accompanied by his temperamental best friend, former high school football star Billy Poe, they are caught up in a terrible act of violence that changes their lives forever."@en
  • "Seine Mutter ist seit fünf Jahren tot, aber Isaac denkt immer an sie. Jetzt ist er zwanzig und will nur noch weg aus der Provinzstadt. Wenn hier ein Kind Schläge kriegt, hat der Schlagende keine Schuld, es lag im Blut, es war die Schuld von irgendwem, lange vor ihm, Gott vielleicht. Aber selbst Gott hat diesen Ort längst verlassen. Seit der Schließung des Stahlwerkes läuft hier nichts mehr. Isaac wohnt bei seinem Vater und träumt von der großen Welt. Am liebsten zusammen mit seinem besten Freund Billy Poe, von dem alle dachten, er würde ein großer Football-Spieler. Gemeinsam machen sie sich auf den Weg."
  • "Set in a beautiful but economically devastated Pennsylvania steel town, American Rust is a novel of the lost American dream and the desperation--as well as the acts of friendship, loyalty, and love--that arise from its loss. From local bars to trainyards to prison, it is the story of two young men, bound to the town by family, responsibility, inertia, and the beauty around them, who dream of a future beyond the factories and abandoned homes."@en
  • "A Buell, dans une région de Pennsylvanie dévastée par la crise de la sidérurgie, Isaac English a renoncé à des études d'astrophysique pour s'occuper de son père invalide et son ami Billy Poe à sa carrière de footballeur universitaire. Quand Isaac s'enfuit avec de l'argent volé à son père, Billy le suit. Mais un incident les sépare et Billy est accusé d'un meurtre commis par Isaac. Premier roman.--[Résumé de l'éditeur]."
  • "Follows the lives of two young men bound by family, inertia, and the ties of home to a dying Pennsylvania steel town, who dream of escaping to California together until one of them accidentally kills a transient and attempts to cover up the crime."@en
  • "Set in a beautiful but economically devastated Pennsylvania steel town, a lush landscape as deceptively promising as the edifices of the abandoned steel mills, "American Rust" is a novel of the lost American dream and the desperation that arises in its absence."
  • "Twee jonge Amerikanen uit een mijnstadje willen in Californië een nieuw leven beginnen, maar hun 'American dream' spat uit elkaar als ze uit zelfverdediging een zwerver doden."

http://schema.org/genre

  • "Detective and mystery stories"
  • "Vertalingen (vorm)"
  • "Belletristische Darstellung"
  • "Large type books"@en
  • "Large type books"
  • "Mystery fiction"
  • "Mystery fiction"@en
  • "Roman américain"
  • "Psychological fiction"@en
  • "Fiction"
  • "Fiction"@en
  • "Romans (teksten)"
  • "Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)"@en
  • "Electronic books"@en

http://schema.org/name

  • "Roest"
  • "American rust"
  • "American rust"@en
  • "Američa rđa"
  • "Rost : Roman"
  • "Rost Roman"
  • "American Rust"@en
  • "American Rust a Novel"@en
  • "Ruggine americana"@it
  • "Ruggine americana"
  • "American rust : [a novel]"@en
  • "Un arrière-goût de rouille : roman"

http://schema.org/workExample