WorldCat Linked Data Explorer

http://worldcat.org/entity/work/id/338425

Sarah, plain and tall : Scholastic bookfiles

"Did Mama sing every day'" Caleb asks his sister Anna. "Every-single-day," she answers. "Papa sang, too." This Newbery Medal'winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family. Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice' Will she sing' Will she stay' This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love. Supports the Common Core State Standards.

Open All Close All

http://schema.org/about

http://schema.org/alternateName

  • "Sarah, plain & tall"
  • "Sarah, plain & tall"@en
  • "Sarah, Plain and Tall by Patricia McLachlan"@en

http://schema.org/description

  • ""Did Mama sing every day'" Caleb asks his sister Anna. "Every-single-day," she answers. "Papa sang, too." This Newbery Medal'winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family. Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice' Will she sing' Will she stay' This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love. Supports the Common Core State Standards."@en
  • "In the year 1910, New Englander Sarah Wheaton answers an ad for a mail-order bride placed by Kansas farmer Jacob Witting, a widower rearing two children. She begins a 30 day trial period as their guest and enthusiastically assumes all motherly responsibilities. As the days pass, this lonely, motherless family gradually opens their hearts to Sarah and slowly comes to terms with their painful past. Their lives again become spontaneous and magical. Love and respect replace fear and distrust as they join together as a family."
  • "A large print version of the award winning story of Anna, her brother Caleb, and Papa's new potential wife, Sarah from Maine."
  • "When papa advertises for a new wife, Sarah appears from Maine, and the children, Caleb and Anna, love her very much but fear she is too home sick and will soon leave them."@en
  • "Quand leur père les invite à venir vivre avec eux dans leur maison dans la prairie, Caleb et Anna sont captivées par leur nouvelle mère et espère qu'elle voudra qu'elles restent."
  • "When their father invites a mail-order bride to come live with them in their prairie home, Caleb and Anna are captivated by their new mother and hope that she will stay."@en
  • "When their father invites a mail-order bride to come live with them in their prairie home, Caleb and Anna are captivated by their new mother and hope that she will stay."
  • "Suggested activities to use with the study of the novel."@en
  • "CLENN CLOSE, CHRISTOPHER WALKEN."@en
  • "Discusses the writing, characters, plot and themes of this 1986 Newbery award-winning book. Includes discussion questions and activities."@en
  • "When their father invites a mail-order bride to come to live with them in their prairie home, Caleb and Anna are captivated by her and hope she will stay."

http://schema.org/genre

  • "Electronic books"
  • "Electronic books"@en
  • "Children's stories"
  • "Sound recordings"
  • "Fiction"
  • "Fiction"@en
  • "Readers (Elementary)"
  • "Juvenile works"
  • "Juvenile works"@en
  • "Juv"@en
  • "Children's stories, American"
  • "Specimens"

http://schema.org/name

  • "Sarah, plain and tall : Scholastic bookfiles"@en
  • "Sarah, plain and tall : in one volume"
  • "Sara, plain and tall"
  • "Sarah, plain and tall : ideas and activities"
  • "Sarah Plain and Tall"@en
  • "Sarah, Plain and Tall"
  • "Sarah, Plain and Tall"@en
  • "Sarah, Plain and Tall : Special Read-Aloud Edition"
  • "Sarah plain and tall"@en
  • "Sarah, plain and tall"
  • "Sarah, plain and tall"@en
  • "SARAH PLAIN AND TALL"@en

http://schema.org/workExample