WorldCat Linked Data Explorer

http://worldcat.org/entity/work/id/733897

The secret life of bees : book club in a bag

The search for a mother, and the need to mother oneself, are crucial elements in this well-written coming-of-age story set in the early 1960s against a background of racial violence and unrest.

Open All Close All

http://schema.org/about

http://schema.org/alternateName

  • "Book clubs to go : Secret life of bees"
  • "Book clubs to go"
  • "Vida secreta de las abejas"

http://schema.org/description

  • "Lily Owens has shaped her entire life around one devasting memory, the day her mother was killed, when Lily was four. Her only real companion has been the fierce-hearted black woman Rosaleen. This pair runs away when Rosaleen insults three racists and are taken in by an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sisters."
  • ""The tale of one motherless daughter's discovery of what family really means - and of the strange and wondrous places we find love" ("The Washington Post"). Sue Monk Kidd's ravishing work is set in South Carolina in 1964."
  • "The search for a mother, and the need to mother oneself, are crucial elements in this well-written coming-of-age story set in the early 1960s against a background of racial violence and unrest."@en
  • "Setin South Carolina in 1964, The Secret Life of Bees tells the story of Lily Owens, whose life has been shaped around the blurred memory of the afternoon her mother was killed. When Lily's fierce-hearted black "stand-in-mothther", Rosaleen, insults three of the deepest racists in town, Lily decides to spring them both free. They escape to Tiburon, South Carolina - a town that holds the secret to her mother's past. Taken in by an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sisters, Lily is introduced to their mesmerizing world of bees and honey, and the Black Madonna."@en
  • "Lily has grown up believing she accidentally killed her mother when she was just four years old. Now, at fourteen, she yearns for forgiveness and a mother's love. Living on a peach farm in South Carolina with her harsh and unyielding father, she has only one friend, Rosaleen, a black servant. (Quelle: Buchumschlag)."
  • "Set in South Carolina in 1964, [this book] tells the story of Lily Owens, whose life has been shaped around the blurred memory of the afternoon her mother was killed. When Lily's fierce-hearted "stand-in mother," Rosaleen, insults three of the town's fiercest racists, Lily decides they should both escape to Tiburon, South Carolina--a town that holds the secret to her mother's past. There they are taken in by an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sisters who introduce Lily to a mesmerizing world of bees, honey, and the Black Madonna who presides over their household. This is a remarkable story about divine female power and the transforming power of love--a story that women will share and pass on to their daughters for years to come.-Back cover."@en
  • "Set in South Carolina in 1964, [this book] tells the story of Lily Owens, whose life has been shaped around the blurred memory of the afternoon her mother was killed. When Lily's fierce-hearted "stand-in mother," Rosaleen, insults three of the town's fiercest racists, Lily decides they should both escape to Tiburon, South Carolina--a town that holds the secret to her mother's past. There they are taken in by an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sisters who introduce Lily to a mesmerizing world of bees, honey, and the Black Madonna who presides over their household. This is a remarkable story about divine female power and the transforming power of love--a story that women will share and pass on to their daughters for years to come.-Back cover."
  • "Lily has grown up believing she accidentally killed her mother when she was four. She not only has her own memory of holding the gun, but her father's account of the event. Now fourteen, she yeams for her mother, and for forgiveness. Living on a peach farm in South Carolina with her father, she has only one friend: Rosaleen, a black servant whose sharp exterior hides a tender heart. South Carolina in the sixties is a place where segregation is still considered a cause worth fighting for. When racial tension explodes one summer afternoon, and Rosaleen is arrested and beaten, Lily is compelled to act. Fugitives from justice and from Lily's harsh and unyielding father, they follow a trail left by the woman who died ten years before. Finding sanctuary in the home of three beekeeping sisters, Lily starts a journey as much about her understanding of the world, as about the mystery surrounding her mother."
  • "En 1964, Lily a quatorze ans et vit en Caroline-du-Sud avec son père, un homme brutal, et Rosaleen, sa nourrice noire. Le décès de sa mère dans d'obscures conditions la hante. Lorsque Rosaleen se fait molester par des Blancs, Lily décide de fuir avec elle cette vie de douleurs et de mensonges. Elles trouvent refuge chez les sÅ“urs Boatwright, trois apicultrices tendres et généreuses dont l'emblème est une Vierge noire. À leurs côtés, Lily va être initiée à la pratique quasi mystique de l'apiculture, à l'affection, à l'amour et à la tolérance."
  • "Now in paperback comes the intoxicating debut novel of "one motherless daughter's discovery of ... the strange and wondrous places we find love" ("The Washington Post"). Sue Monk Kidd's ravishing work is set in South Carolina in 1964."@en
  • "Now in paperback comes the intoxicating debut novel of "one motherless daughter's discover of ... the strange and wondrous places we find love" ("The Washington Post"). Sue Monk Kidd's ravishing work is set in South Carolina in 1964."@en
  • "Now in paperback comes the intoxicating debut novel of "one motherless daughter's discover of ... the strange and wondrous places we find love" ("The Washington Post"). Sue Monk Kidd's ravishing work is set in South Carolina in 1964."
  • "Set in South Carolina in 1964, [this book] tells the story of Lily Owens, whose life has been shaped around the blurred memory of the afternoon her mother was killed. When Lily's fierce-hearted "stand-in mother," Rosaleen, insults three of the town's fiercest racists, Lily decides they should both escape to Tiburon, South Carolina--a town that holds the secret to her mother's past. There they are taken in by an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sisters who introduce Lily to a mesmerizing world of bees, honey, and the Black Madonna who presides over their household. This is a remarkable story about divine female power and the transforming power of love--a story that women will share and pass on to their daughters for years to come."@en
  • "A bag with 15 copies of the title to assist book group discussion leaders."@en
  • "The multimillion-copy'bestselling first novel by the author of The Invention of Wings, coming from Viking in January 2014 The Secret Life of Bees was a New York Times bestseller for more than two and a half years, a Good Morning America 'Read This' Book Club pick and was made into an award-winning film starring Dakota Fanning, Queen Latifah, Jennifer Hudson, and Alicia Keys. A coming of age tale set in South Carolina in 1964, The Secret Life of Bees will appeal to fans of Kathryn Stockett's The Help and Beth Hoffman's Saving CeeCee Honeycutt, and tells the story of Lily Owens, whose life has been shaped around the blurred memory of the afternoon her mother was killed. When Lily's fierce-hearted black 'stand-in mother,' Rosaleen, insults three of the town's most vicious racists, Lily decides they should both escape to Tiburon, South Carolina'a town that holds the secret to her mother's past. There they are taken in by an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sisters who introduce Lily to a mesmerizing world of bees, honey, and the Black Madonna who presides over their household. This is a remarkable story about divine female power and the transforming power of love'a story that women will continue to share and pass on to their daughters for years to come."@en
  • "Fourteen-year-old Lily and her companion, Rosaleen, an African-American woman who has cared for Lily since her mother's death ten years earlier, flee their home after Rosaleen is victimized by racist police officers, and find a safe haven in Tiburon, South Carolina at the home of three beekeeping sisters, May, June, and August."
  • "During the summer of 1964 in rural South Carolina, a young girl is given a home by three black, beekeeping sisters. As she enters their mesmerizing secret world of bees and honey, she discovers a place where she can find the single thing her heart longs for most."@en
  • "After her "stand-in mother," a bold black woman named Rosaleen, insults the three biggest racists in town, Lily Owens joins Rosaleen on a journey to Tiburon, South Carolina, where they are taken in by three black, bee-keeping sisters."
  • "Lily Owens is a young girl who lives on the peach farm that her abusive father owns. Rosaleen is a black woman hired by Lily's father to be a stand in mother for Lilly. Rosaleen insults some of the biggest racists in their town. Lily and Rosaleen run away to a town Lily believes that her mother once lived in. They go to live with the three Boatwright sisters on their honey farm. She finds solace in their mesmerizing world of beekeeping."
  • "Set in South Carolina in the sixties, a time when racial segregation is still practised, young Lily is compelled to rescue her one friend, a black servant, who is beaten and jailed. There follows a journey where Lily learns as much about the world as she does about herself."@en
  • "A bag with ten copies of the title that may also include miscellaneous notes, discussion questions, biographical information, and reading lists to assist book group discussion leaders."@en
  • "Fourteen-year-old Lily and her companion, Rosaleen, an African-American woman who has cared from Lily since her mother's death ten years earlier, flee their home after Rosaleen is victimized by racist police officers, and find a safe haven in Tiburon, South Carolina at the home of three beekeeping sisters, May, June, and August."@en
  • "Purchased through an Ontario Trillium Foundation Grant."@en

http://schema.org/genre

  • "Family saga"
  • "Large type books"@en
  • "Domestic fiction"
  • "Domestic fiction"@en
  • "Fiction"
  • "Fiction"@en
  • "Genres littéraires"
  • "Adventure fiction"
  • "Bildungsromans"
  • "Bildungsromans"@en
  • "Electronic books"@en
  • "Electronic books"
  • "Book club kit"@en

http://schema.org/name

  • "The secret life of bees : book club in a bag"@en
  • "The Secret Life of Bees"@en
  • "The Secret Life of Bees"
  • "The Secret Life of Bees (non-renewable)"@en
  • "The secret life of bees"@en
  • "The secret life of bees : [a novel]"
  • "The secret life of bees"
  • "The SECRET LIFE OF BEES: A NOVEL"
  • "Secret Life Of Bees"
  • "The Secret Life Of Bees"@en
  • "The secret life of bees / S"
  • "La vida secreta de las abejas"
  • "The secret life bees"@en
  • "The secret life of bees a novel"@en
  • "The Secret life of bees"@en
  • "The Secret life of bees"

http://schema.org/workExample