WorldCat Linked Data Explorer

http://worldcat.org/entity/work/id/881265

The Joy Luck Club /

Story of four Chinese women born and raised in China before 1949 and their four American-born daughters.

Open All Close All

http://schema.org/about

http://schema.org/contributor

http://schema.org/description

  • "Story of four Chinese women born and raised in China before 1949 and their four American-born daughters."@en
  • "Four mothers, four daughters, four families whose histories shift with the four winds depending on who's "saying" the stories. In 1949 four Chinese women, recent immigrants to San Francisco, begin meeting to eat dim sum, play mahjong, and talk. United in shared unspeakable loss and hope, they call themselves the Joy Luck Club. Rather than sink into tragedy, they choose to gather to raise their spirits and money. "To despair was to wish back for something already lost. Or to prolong what was already unbearable." Forty years later the stories and history continue."
  • "The stories of four Chinese women and their American-born daughters are unraveled through a series of vignettes that reveal the lives of the four older women and the tragedies they endured before coming to America. The memories of the past are then linked to the present day to illuminate the sometimes difficult relationships between the mothers and daughters."@en
  • "Four Chinese women begin meeting in San Francisco to play mah jong, invest in stocks, eat, and "say" stories. Nearly forty years later one of the members has died, and her daughter has come to take her place, only to learn of her mother's lifelong wish - and the tragic way in which it has come true."
  • "The Joy Luck Club tells the uplifting story of four remarkable friends whose extraordinary lives are filled with joy and heartbreak. Their lifelong friendship reveals a mosaic of the startling events and conditions that have shaped their lives - and how these experiences have affected the hopes and dreams they hold for each of their children."@en
  • ""There are so many things that a mother wishes to teach her daughter. How to lose your innocence but not your hope. How to keep hoping, when hope is your only joy. How to laugh for ever. This is the story of four mothers and their daughters - Chinese-American women, the mothers born in China, and the daughters born in America. Through their eyes we see life in pre-Revolutionary China, and life in downtown San Francisco; women struggling to find a cultural identity that can include a past and a future half a world apart."--P. [4] of cover."
  • "Now that her mother has died, a daughter has come to take her place in the social club founded forty years ago only to discover secrets her mother never shared with her family."
  • "Encompassing two generations and a rich blend of Chinese and American history, the story of four struggling, strong women also reveals their daughter's memories and feelings."@en
  • "This title is also available as a filmrst-generation Chinese-American daughters; two generations of women struggling to come to terms with their cultural identity}"
  • "A woman relates her experiences as a second generation Chinese American."
  • "A woman relates her experiences as a second generation Chinese American."@en
  • "In 1949 four Chinese women-drawn together by the shadow of their past-begin meeting in San Francisco to play mah jong, invest in stocks, eat dim sum, and "say" stories."@en
  • "Press kit includes a listing of cast and credits and production information."
  • "Through a series of flashbacks, four young chinese women born in America and their respective mothers born in feudal China, explore their past. This search will help them understand their difficult mother/daughter relationship.--Robert Pare."
  • "Four mothers, four daughters, four families whose histories shift with the four winds depending on who's "saying" the stories. In 1949 four Chinese women, recent immigrants to San Francisco, begin meeting to eat dim sum, play mahjong, and talk. United in shared unspeakable loss and hope, they call themselves the Joy Luck Club. Rather than sink into tragedy, they choose to gather to raise their spirits and money. "To despair was to wish back for something already lost. Or to prolong what was already unbearable." Forty years later the stories and history continue. With wit and sensitivity, Amy Tan examines the sometimes painful, often tender, and always deep connection between mothers and daughters. As each woman reveals her secrets, trying to unravel the truth about her life, the strings become more tangled, more entwined. Mothers boast or despair over daughters, and daughters roll their eyes even as they feel the inextricable tightening of their matriarchal ties. Tan is an astute storyteller, enticing readers to immerse themselves into these lives of complexity and mystery."@en
  • "In 1949, four Chinese women--drawn together by the shadow of their past--begin meeting in San Francisco to play mah jong, invest in stocks and "say" stories. They call their gathering the Joy Luck Club--and forge a relationship that binds them for more than three decades."
  • "In 1949, four Chinese women--drawn together by the shadow of their past--begin meeting in San Francisco to play mah jong, invest in stocks and "say" stories. They call their gathering the Joy Luck Club--and forge a relationship that binds them for more than three decades."@en
  • "While playing mah jong, a group of Chinese American women discuss their lives before they left China."
  • "The story of four mothers and their first-generation Chinese-American daughters; two generations of women struggling to come to terms with their cultural identity.; This title is also available as a film__"
  • "In 1949, four Chinese women--drawn together by the shadow of their past--begin meeting in San Francisco to play mah jong, invest in stocks and "say" stories. They call their gathering the Joy Luck Club--and forge a relationship that binds them for more than three decades. A celebrated novel in the tradition of Alice Adams and Margaret Atwood from the bestselling author of The Kitchen God's Wife."@en
  • "In 1949, four Chinese women--drawn together by the shadow of their past--begin meeting in San Francisco to play mah jong, invest in stocks and "say" stories. They call their gathering the Joy Luck Club--and forge a relationship that binds them for more than three decades. A celebrated novel in the tradition of Alice Adams and Margaret Atwood from the bestselling author of The Kitchen God's Wife."
  • "For long time now the woman had wanted to give her daughter the single swan feather and tell her, This feather may look worthless, but it comes from afar and carries with it all my good intentions. And she waited, year after year, until she could tell her daughter this in perfect American English."
  • "Encompassing two generations and a rich blend of Chinese and American history, the story of four struggling, strong women also reveals their daughters' memories and feelings."
  • "Literature Online includes the KnowledgeNotes student guides, a unique collection of critical introductions to major literary works. These high-quality, peer-reviewed academic resources are tailored to the needs of literature students and serve as a complement to the guidance provided by lecturers and seminar teachers."

http://schema.org/genre

  • "Psychological fiction"
  • "Drama."@en
  • "Powieść amerykańska"
  • "Domestic fiction."@en
  • "Domestic fiction."
  • "Flygtninge"
  • "Genres littéraires."
  • "Fiction"
  • "Fiction"@en
  • "Samfundsskildringer fra nutiden"
  • "Audiobooks."
  • "Translations"
  • "Belletristische Darstellung - San Francisco <Calif.> - Mutter - Tochter - Chinesin - Geschichte 1940-1980."
  • "Mothers and daughters"
  • "Kvindeskildringer"
  • "Fiction."@en
  • "Fiction."
  • "Criticism, interpretation, etc."@en
  • "Problems, exercises, etc."
  • "Sprachübungstext"
  • "Electronic books."@en
  • "Electronic books."
  • "Domestic fiction"
  • "Domestic fiction"@en
  • "Textbooks"@en
  • "Textbooks"
  • "Powieść psychologiczna amerykańska"
  • "Belletristische Darstellung."@en
  • "Belletristische Darstellung."
  • "Drama"@en
  • "Drama"
  • "Ind- og udvandrerskildringer"
  • "Readers."@en
  • "Readers."
  • "Psychological fiction."
  • "Readers"@en
  • "Readers"

http://schema.org/name

  • "The Joy Luck Club /"@en
  • "The Joy Luck Club /"
  • "Joy Luck Club A Novel."
  • "The joy luck club notes"@en
  • "The joy luck club /"@en
  • "The joy luck club /"
  • "Cliffs Notes on Amy Tan's The Joy Luck Club"@en
  • "The joy luck club from KnowledgeNotes student guides"
  • "The joy luck club"
  • "The joy luck club"@en
  • "The joy luck club Student guide"
  • "Joy Luck Club"
  • "Joy Luck Club"@en
  • "Tan's The Joy Luck Club"@en
  • "The Joy Luck Club."
  • "The Joy Luck Club."@en
  • "The Joy luck club /"
  • "The joy luck club : [screenplay] /"
  • "The joy luck club : [screenplay] /"@en
  • "The Joy Luck Club : notes /"@en
  • "The Joy Luck Club : [press kit] /"
  • "The Joy Luck Club / Amy Tan ; retold by Clare West."@en
  • "The Joy Luck club"
  • "The Joy Luck club /"
  • "The joy luck club : [a novel] /"
  • "The Joy Luck club /"@en
  • "The Joy luck club : notes."@en
  • "The Joy Luck Club [Chinese ed.]."
  • "Cliff Notes on Amy Tan's The Joy Luck Club"@en
  • "The joy luck club."
  • "Cliffs notes on Amy Tan's The joy luck club"@en
  • "Joy Luck Club /"
  • "Joy Luck Club /"@sv
  • "The Joy Luck Club An Introduction"
  • "THE JOY LUCK CLUB /"
  • "Amy Tan's The Joy Luck Club"@en
  • "The Joy Luck Club"
  • "The Joy Luck Club"@en
  • "The Joy luck Club /"

http://schema.org/workExample