WorldCat Linked Data Explorer

http://worldcat.org/entity/work/id/572450785

Reframing academic leadership

"The powerful tool of 'reframing' can be applied to the challenges of higher education leadership. The book uses the authors Lee Bolman and Joan Gallos's four frames (Structural, Human Resource, Political, Symbolic) developed by Bolman and Deal to illustrate different views of academic leadership. The Structural Frame: The Human Resource Frame: The Political Frame: and The Symbolic Frame. This will prove to be an invaluable recourse for deans directors, vice presidents, provosts, department chairs who are interested in reframing their institutions"--Provided by publisher.

Open All Close All

http://schema.org/description

  • "The powerful tool of "reframing" can be applied to the challenges of higher education leadership. The book uses the authors' four frames (Structural, Human Resource, Political, Symbolic) developed by Bolman and Deal to illustrate different views of academic leadership. In this book the authors offer academic leaders a guide for: Crafting dynamic institutions where the whole is greater than the sum of the parts; Creating campus environments that facilitate creativity and commitment; Forging alliances and partnerships in service of the mission; Building shared vision and campus cultures that unite and inspire; Serving the larger goals of the academy and society. This is a resource for deans, directors, vice presidents, provosts, department chairs who are interested in reframing their institutions."
  • ""The powerful tool of 'reframing' can be applied to the challenges of higher education leadership. The book uses the authors Lee Bolman and Joan Gallos's four frames (Structural, Human Resource, Political, Symbolic) developed by Bolman and Deal to illustrate different views of academic leadership. The Structural Frame: The Human Resource Frame: The Political Frame: and The Symbolic Frame. This will prove to be an invaluable recourse for deans directors, vice presidents, provosts, department chairs who are interested in reframing their institutions"--Provided by publisher."@en
  • ""The powerful tool of "reframing" can be applied to the challenges of higher education leadership. The book uses the authors Lee Bolman and Joan Gallos's four frames (Structural, Human Resource, Political, Symbolic) developed by Bolman and Deal to illustrate different views of academic leadership. The Structural Frame: The Human Resource Frame: The Political Frame: and The Symbolic Frame. This will prove to be an invaluable recourse for deans directors, vice presidents, provosts, department chairs who are interested in reframing their institutions"--Provided by publisher."
  • ""Colleges and universities constitute a special type of organization; and their complex mission, dynamics, personnel structures, and values require a distinct set of understandings and skills to lead and manage them well."--The PrefaceIn Reframing Academic Leadership, Lee G. Bolman and Joan V. Gallos offer higher education leaders a provocative and pragmatic guide forCrafting dynamic institutions where the whole is greater than the sum of the partsCreating campus environments that facilitate creativity and commitmentForging alliances and partnerships in service of the missionBuilding shared vision and campus cultures that unite and inspireServing the larger goals of the academy and societyThroughout the book, the authors integrate powerful conceptual frameworks with rich and compelling real-world cases to support academic leaders searching for the best in themselves and in their institutions. The book tackles thorny issues such as building institutional clarity and capacity, managing conflict, coping with difficult people, partnering with the boss, and developing leadership resilience. Following in the tradition of Bolman and Deal's classic Reframing Organizations, Bolman and Gallos emphasize a pragmatic approach. They tease out the unique challenges and opportunities in academic leadership and provide ideas, tools, and encouragement to help higher education leaders see more clearly, feel more confident, and become more skilled and versatile in handling the vicissitudes of daily life. Reframing Academic Leadership is the resource for those seeking to understand, develop, and manage colleges and universities."@en
  • ""Colleges and universities constitute a special type of organization; and their complex mission, dynamics, personnel structures, and values require a distinct set of understandings and skills to lead and manage them well."--The Preface In Reframing Academic Leadership, Lee G. Bolman and Joan V. Gallos offer higher education leaders a provocative and pragmatic guide for ; Crafting dynamic institutions where the whole is greater than the sum of the parts; Creating campus environments that facilitate creativity and commitment; Forging alliances and partnerships in service of the mission; Buil."@en

http://schema.org/genre

  • "Electronic books."
  • "Electronic books."@en

http://schema.org/name

  • "Reframing academic leadership"@en
  • "Reframing academic leadership"
  • "Reframing Academic Leadership"
  • "Reframing academic leadership /"